Can I leave my heart

​Can I, just for a week, leave my heart
Safely nestled in a cosy box 
Because oh, it’s a beautiful heart
Carrying all the chapters of quite a life
Then I don’t have to wreck through the memories  
Just for a week
Or is that too long a time for such an extraordinary request?

Can I then, just for a day, leave my heart 
Safely nestled in a cosy box
Because oh, it’s a beautiful heart
Being strong and persevering beyond all odds
Then I don’t have to intensely keep the impossibilities from destroying me
Just for a day
Or is this too long a time for such an extraordinary request?

Okay, can I then, just for an hour, leave my heart
Safely nestled in a cosy box
Because oh, it’s a beautiful heart
Having the ability to trust you, God… even if you seem quiet
Then I don’t have to experience the desperation of needing to hear You
Just for an hour
Or is that too long a time for such an extraordinary request?

God, then just for a moment… can I leave my heart
Safely nestled in a cosy box
Because yes, I know, you have made my heart beautiful…
But I am tired, Jesus…
Can I maybe even leave my life?
My feelings?
My whole existence? 
Then I don’t have to… then I just don’t have to
Just for a moment
Or is that too long a time for such an extraordinary request?

And I know Jesus, that even You asked the Father if Your cup can pass You by… nevertheless not Your will but His be done
And even though my cup is nothing compared to Yours, I will also say
Not my will, but Yours be done
Jesus, did you also want to leave Your heart, and put it in a cosy box… even just for a moment? 

Copyright©thelovetestimony2017

3 thoughts on “Can I leave my heart

    • Yes, so true! This poem was more about just wanting a break from our heartache, pain or whatever we are going through. Sometimes you just get tired of feeling all that is happening in your life… and it’s like you don’t want to throw all away that God has built into you, so you wanna still treasure it… but sometimes one just desire a break from the intensity or heartache or whatever it is… or anyways… that’s how I sometimes feel.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

